One down, all the rest to go

Just had a very triumphant Peter Windsor on the phone. “We have a driver!” he belts out. “US F1 has a driver!” I turn down the volume of my phone a bit and say calmly “Oh good Peter. That’s one down, one to go. By the way, do you have a car yet? And engineers? You need a couple dozen of those at least but maybe two or three to start with?”

This does not go down well. “Jose Maria Lopez is the dominant race driver in all of Argentina,” he says. “He’s the new Fangio. So stop jerking me around, will you? The President of Argentina came out especially for the signing ceremony. I sent you the picture, did you get it? That’s her right there, right next to me.”

I decide not to mention that he’s obviously been exposed to an overdose of American slang lately and say yes I received it, thank you. And by the way, it’s quite fitting that you should be standing so close to Cristina de Kirchner in that photo, isn’t it?

He asks, what do you mean? So I say “Well, I’m not sure if you’re aware of it but here in the UK we call her Old Plastic Face. Most of what you see ain’t real. Sort of the same as with that team of yours.”

The phone goes dead. That’ll keep him out of my hair for a while.

Leave a Reply

