Americans, please get your act together

Pardon my French, but I’m really getting fed up with this. Year after year I bend over backwards in order to get some proper car racing to the US. Believe me, we’ve tried. Detroit, Dallas, Phoenix, you name it. And don’t even get me started on Indianapolis.

And don’t tell me it can’t be done. For decades on end Formula 1 had the greatest Grand Prix in the US. Sebring, Long Beach and Watkins Glen are legendary names in Grand Prix history, with spectacular races and cheering crowds. Believe it or not, they even had American drivers in those days! Incidentally, those were also the days in which America still made decent cars.

But my point is, it can be done, and it shall be done again. Just let me do my work. I’ve already struck a deal with young Tavo Hellmund, and I have great confidence in the lad. Knew his father quite well, the old scoundrel. Used to promote races in the glory days, so the son should know what he’s doing. If he doesn’t, he’s history, and he knows it.

And don’t think I don’t know how to hedge my bets. Of course I do. You don’t get to be a billionaire F1 Supremo without backup plans. But I’d hardly be the one to tell you what they were, would I? So yes, maybe I’ve lined up a second GP in New Jersey. Or maybe in New York. Or maybe I’m just putting pressure on young Tavo. Who knows?

Exactly. I do. As long as that’s clear.

Leave a Reply

