India looks good

Stopover in Delhi on the way to Sing, did a quick run around the construction site, just to let the lads know the master’s keeping an eye on progress. On the way there I saw at least a million ticket-buyers-to-be. And no, it was not a rickshaw ride like this one.

A circuit under construction surrounded by a billion new fans always gets me in a good mood, so I was nice to the Times of India journo that wanted to interview me. Had a bit of fun with him, too. Told him I actually thought sixteen races was an ideal season. Twenty is plenty, I said, and the bugger penned it down dutifully. That’ll get the rumour mill going.

You can just wait for the nervous circuit owners to start calling me. And lovely calls they will be. “Bernie, you’ll keep some room for us on the calendar, won’t you?” “An F1 season without [fill in Hellhole with a claim to fame] is utterly unthinkable, isn’t it Bernie?” Believe me, this is going to make the next set of negotiations a lot easier. Yes, it was a fine day.

And now off to another great night race in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

